Picabo


Stand and Deliver Part II: The Showdown by meeks
January 31, 2010, 5:09 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

My presentation before the PTA roughly reads as follows with () containing thoughts or actions unsaid:

“A sound education is like a sound triangle (I form firm a hand triangle over my head supported with a Larry Craig wide stance) made up of three parts: parents, students, and teacher. If any side is weak, the structure will collapse. Students as is don’t do their homework; students don’t participate in class; students don’t let me know when they don’t understand something; students show up for school intermittently; students expect me to give them the answer. (I practically approach the asymptote – a student showing any sign of a pulse in class would be a sign of progress).”

I ended this (hopefully) impassioned call to arms urging parents to show the same commitment to education that they expect from their children; then, I opened the floor to any questions, comments, or any suggestions that the parents might have for me. Silence,
hmmm………..I am starting to see how the pieces fit.

In a land where Bingo is considered a viable weekend recreation outside of nursing homes, is it really all that surprising that it sometimes feels like there is a glass wall in the classroom between myself and my students? I do not intend to denigrate passivity in the general sense – enlightened Buddhist, and Christians who turn thy other cheek: we deem them peaceful; the dude on the couch who is cool with whatever movie/food/activity the group decides on: we deem easy-going – and these are good things! In education, I consider passivity a no go.

My sixth grade science teacher, in an effort to shut me up, eventually rationed my question by assigning me a finite number of ‘question blocks’ I could cash-in for questions. I was surely a distracting annoyance questioning anything and everything in the good name of my forefathers, but I was also a good student.

A passive culture does come with its benefits though. The national war count for Guyana over the past 200 years? Zero.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

