Picabo


soca music by meeks
October 17, 2009, 4:43 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

From the otherwise worthless Michael Jackson death extravaganze media zoo, I do remember reading one resulting pleasant piece. It detailed the experience of a reporter roaming the New York city streets observing the communal mourning experience of the city in the days immediately the death. He/she waxed poetic about what it felt like to have the sounds, talk, and music of the city tuned to a single frequency, that of the recently deceased. Michael Jackson from the terrace boombox, the car stereos, the gossip in the coffee shop. In an increasingly nichieified culture, the reporter contended that his death was a powerful unifying experience.

In Guyana, I have the priveldge of the powerful unity experience that can only be felt when an entire community tunes into a singular sound a least once a day. (It might even have surpassed grooving my body in terms of frequency). My first week in Guyana I notice that the song One More Night was played a lot from speakers of taxis, minibuses, restaurants, and even in the public bathrooms. It was impossible to avoid. I thought to myself, ‘wow this song must be a phenomenon and I am lucky enough to have arrived right at the peak of its popularity.’ Six Weeks into my Guyana experience, I have learned that this song was not the exception but the rule. One More Night is still going strong from the same public sources, heard it twice today, but it is hardly alone in its ubiquity. There are a handful of other hits that I have also heard at least every other day in passing blaring from public sources. It is like the entire nation is working off one official national mix tape. Beside One More Night, The Night Ship (a remake of the Lionel Richie song) is the only other one I can identify by name. The others are Soca club hits from which I can barely decifer a single word over the heavy accents, and frenetic cacophony of noises. In one, the singer commands bend over, bend over, bend over before devolving into an epileptic GAGAGAGAGAGAGA. The closest thing I can equate these soca hits to is japanese commericials. Maybe at some point I can put together The Guyana Mixtape (Fall ’09) .

Sitting in my house now trying to contentrate on writing, I think back to the warm naivate with which I absorbed that Michael Jackson piece. You might be sitting sitting in your chair right now reading this blog cultivating a similar sentiment. And to be fair, sometimes when life here gets slow, a quick peppy song can really perk me up, But bend ova, bend ova, bend ova,
GAGAGAGAGAGAGAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA, bend ova, bend ova, bend ova, is best served at the earliest after my morning coffee.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

