Picabo


One’s Rhetorical Reaction: Apocalypse Past by meeks
January 20, 2009, 12:46 pm
Filed under: Politics | Tags: , , , ,

He just seems to get it.

Every frustration I have felt listening to Bush over the last 8 or what seems like 12 years has been lifted by Obamas emergence. My national conscientiousness- what it means to be an American, what it means to believe in your nation – has been awakening after a long, long hibernation. Unmitigated raw emotions emanated from me as I listened to Obama run through a litany of things that I actually cared about: science, prudent military uses, responsibility, all in a way that felt sincere yet short of rhetorical. My body had become so accustomed to its self preserving apathetic response to all things presidential fed by toxic trivilalities like gay marriage, Teri Schivo, Steriods and less trivial but none less toxic- Iraq – that it was completely unprepared to hear a welcome call for optimism.Nuclear fireball.jpg

For as long as I can remember, I had never really considered the possibility that the world was not on a fast track to disaster, the impending dilapidation felt understood. My standing world view was perhaps be best relayed as transmogrification nuclear cold war doom captured in the bewilderment of Fenyman’s apocalyptic lament and finally concession-

“I returned to civilization shortly after that and went to Cornell to teach, and my first impression was a very strange one. I can’t understand it any more, but I felt very strongly then. I sat in a restaurant in New York, for example, and I looked out at the buildings and I began to think, you know, about how much the radius of the Hiroshima bomb damage was and so forth… How far from here was 34th street?… All those buildings, all smashed — and so on. And I would see people building a bridge, or they’d be making a new road, and I thought, they’re crazy, they just don’t understand, they don’t understand. Why are they making new things? It’s so useless.”

“But, fortunately, it’s been useless for almost forty years now, hasn’t it? So I’ve been wrong about it being useless making bridges and I’m glad those other people had the sense to go ahead.”

The sentiments in the later part of the quote of concession, of monotonously putting one foot in front of the other, not out of conviction but of subsistence, expose the quote’s historical context, and that is what is different about today day. I feel reasoned moving forward fueled by more than subsistence, but the confidence that things will get better. What more can one ask for from a leader blazing our way through treachery?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Bush is probably the worst president ever. He was so wrong in almost everything.

Comment by jokersville




Leave a Reply

